Afro-Latin Experience in Puerto Rico (Keturah Nix blog post)

La Bomba de Loiza

Blog 1:

As the Research Tour trip began, I felt as though I had a good perspective on what to expect from the history of Puerto Rican culture based on our discussions in the Black Thought Collective. Taking this knowledge with me on the tour I was excited to gain a more modern view of the culture and society. With the progression of the trip, one of the most memorable moments for me that is a representation of Puerto Rican culture is our trip to Loiza. This was very enlightening to me because while the exterior of the city may not be an “ideal” living situation – the houses, building and overall physical appearance – the people possess an extreme amount of talent and passion for their culture and heritage. Artist Samuel Lind is a wonderful example of a person documenting and paying homage to one’s origins and culture. This trip to Loiza has helped my perspective on my purpose and place in African American culture in the United States. It is very important that we not only focus on where we are presently and hope to be in the future, we must also remember the rich heritage and origins from where we came. This is our duty as emerging leaders.

Blog 2:

Now that the Research Tour to Puerto Rico is coming to a close, I am so appreciative for this experience not only because this is my first trip outside the continental U.S., but also because it has taught me a lot about the expansion of the black community on a broader scale. I am currently taking an Early American and Colonial literature course where we have been discussing colonialism and European influence on indigenous people and, while being here in San Juan and Loiza, the various influences are very prevalent. The fusion of Spaniard influence, African influence, and Indian influence is demonstrated in the food, music, mannerisms, and architecture. The passion for Puerto Rican culture and society is a celebrated experience. I am glad to have had the opportunity to witness first hand for a few moments.

Leave a Reply

